Articles

Sixth Form courses are at a level of study that is higher than the work undertaken in year 11 and prepare students for entry to university.  Students, in most cases pick three subjects, in exceptional circumstances four may be taken. Success in Year 12 is essential for entry into year 13 as is a good record of behaviour and attendance.

The entry requirements for a Sixth Form programme of study is a minimum 4 9-4 grades. You will usually be expected to have a grade 6 in the subjects that you choose and some subjects have specific entry requirements. These will be outlined on Open Evening and in your guidance interviews.  Students will also be expected to have a good record of behaviour and attendance.  Any student who has not achieved a good pass grade in either GCSE Mathematics or English will need to follow resit programme in these subjects.

A Levels are graded from A – E.  Vocational courses are graded Pass, Merit, Distinction and Distinction Star.  These grades are assigned points by UCAS and frequently universities will express their offer in terms of points rather than grades. This will all be explained during the course of the two years.

  • A-Level Art (To be studied at Chesterfield High School)

  • Extended Project

  • GCSE English

  • GCSE Mathematics

google

Search School Website only

What’s Coming Up 

  • Wed 22nd May - 30 pupils to Edge Hill
  • Mon 26th-Friday 30th May – Half Term
  • Mon 10th June - Internal exams begin - All years
  • Thurs 13th June – Sports Awards
  • Fri 14th June - 15th DoE Silver Practice
  • Fri 21st June - Adventure Sports trip to France Years 9 & 10
  • Mon 24th June - pupils finish at 1.10pm
  • NEW Wed 26th June - Exam Contingency date
  • Thurs 27th June - New Intake Taster Day
  • Fri 28th June - DoE Silver Assessment
  • Thurs 4th July - New Intake Evening/Year 11 Prom
  • Fri 12th July – Year 13 Prom
  • Mon 15th July – Sports Day
  • Tue 16th July - Year 12 Parent Review Day
  • Tue 16th -Friday 19th July – DofE Gold
  • Fri 19th July- End of term Service.  School finishes at 1.15pm

For more information please see

Holy Family School Calendar

 

Search

Our Address

Mr M Symes,

Holy Family Catholic High School

 Virgins Lane.

Thornton,

L23 4UL

Contact Us

sample0151 924 6451

   School Contact Mrs S Harris (Head’s PA):
         Tel: 0151 932 6106
         Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Us

How to Find Us

Find Us on Google Maps

Link to Google