Events and Trips

A Mathematical Feast!

On Wednesday 20th March four Year 10 pupils attended the ‘UK Maths Feast’ at King David High School, Liverpool.  Representing Holy Family were Emily, Caleb, Kate and Ameer.

The team took part in a number of mathematical challenges throughout the day, including logic puzzles and a ‘maths comprehension’ exercise which required pupils to study some A Level Further Maths concepts and then complete the associated questions.  Our team were the only group to score full marks in this section, using and applying Prim’s and Kruskal’s algorithm to achieve the maximum 21 marks available.  One of the organisers was astounded, stating that he had never known anyone score full marks on such a challenging topic!

Despite winning two out of the four rounds Holy Family had to be content to be runners-up.  Nonetheless the team had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon flexing their mathematical muscles, and all came away extremely proud of their achievement.  Well done!

2019 Maths1

google

Search School Website only

What’s Coming Up 

  • NEW Wed 26th June - Exam Contingency date
  • Wed 26th June - Evening – HFCHS Art Exhibition
  • Thurs 27th June - New Intake Taster Day/New Intake Evening 5pm-7pm
  • Fri 28th June - DoE Silver Assessment
  • Tues 2nd July - 3.30-5 Netball/Football Taster Sessions For New Intake Pupils (Pe Dept)
  • Thurs 4th July - Year 11 Prom
  • Fri 12th July – Year 13 Prom
  • Mon 15th July – Sports Day
  • Tue 16th July - Year 12 Parent Review Day
  • Tue 16th -Friday 19th July – DofE Gold
  • Wed 17th July-Trip to Alton Towers
  • Fri 19th July- End of term Service.  School finishes at 1.15pm
  • Thursday 15th August 2019 - A level Results Day
  • Thursday 22nd August 2019GCSE Results Day

For more information please see

Holy Family School Calendar

 

Search

Our Address

Mr M Symes,

Holy Family Catholic High School

 Virgins Lane.

Thornton,

L23 4UL

Contact Us

sample0151 924 6451

   School Contact Mrs S Harris (Head’s PA):
         Tel: 0151 932 6106
         Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Us

How to Find Us

Find Us on Google Maps

Link to Google