Literacy

At Holy Family, it is our ambition to promote literacy in all areas of the school curriculum.  We want confident, secure pupils in all literacy skills so that they can thrive and communicate effectively as adults.  It is our intention that we raise standards of literacy, in partnership with parents, so that no student is disadvantaged by poor literacy skills.

We want to encourage students to read widely and often.  There are reading resources and activities taking place in school, we also provide reading materials and the opportunity to purchase books through the Bookclub.   

In addition, we encourage parents to access the wealth of reading resources available and have created a reading list for specifically for each key stage.

We recommend the following websites to support your child reading at home:

National Literacy Trust

The Literacy Shed

google

Search School Website only

What’s Coming Up 

  • Wed 22nd May - 30 pupils to Edge Hill
  • Mon 26th-Friday 30th May – Half Term
  • Mon 10th June - Internal exams begin - All years
  • Thurs 13th June – Sports Awards
  • Fri 14th June - 15th DoE Silver Practice
  • Fri 21st June - Adventure Sports trip to France Years 9 & 10
  • Mon 24th June - pupils finish at 1.10pm
  • NEW Wed 26th June - Exam Contingency date
  • Thurs 27th June - New Intake Taster Day
  • Fri 28th June - DoE Silver Assessment
  • Thurs 4th July - New Intake Evening/Year 11 Prom
  • Fri 12th July – Year 13 Prom
  • Mon 15th July – Sports Day
  • Tue 16th July - Year 12 Parent Review Day
  • Tue 16th -Friday 19th July – DofE Gold
  • Fri 19th July- End of term Service.  School finishes at 1.15pm

For more information please see

Holy Family School Calendar

 

Search

Our Address

Mr M Symes,

Holy Family Catholic High School

 Virgins Lane.

Thornton,

L23 4UL

Contact Us

sample0151 924 6451

   School Contact Mrs S Harris (Head’s PA):
         Tel: 0151 932 6106
         Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Contact Us

How to Find Us

Find Us on Google Maps

Link to Google