Head of Department - Mr. D. Hope

In the Computing & ICT Department, we are committed to giving all students, regardless of ability, an understanding of the role that the Computing plays in the world in which they live, alongside practical understanding of the uses of a range of computing technologies.  In providing students with these computational skills, it is expected that their knowledge and understanding develop as they apply these across the curriculum

The programme of study at Key Stage 3 allows students to develop their knowledge and understanding of computing concepts. The aims of the Computer Science Department are to facilitate the understanding of the concepts and technology which underpin the field and to develop students’ ability to analyse problems, plan and develop programmed solutions. The schemes of work are selected to give a balanced and varied programme of study, incorporating a full range of differentiation to meet all our students’ needs.  Progression through the key stages leads to students being expected to apply greater understanding and develop into independent learners.

GCSE Computer Science

Key Stage 4 Computing and ICT curriculum options

GCSE Computer Science

Click here to see course specification

The course gives students a real, in-depth understanding of how computer technology works. The course will develop critical thinking, analysis and problemsolving skills through the study of computer programming, giving students a fun and interesting way to develop these skills, which can be transferred to other subjects and even applied in day-to-day life.

Students will have five lessons per fortnight in Key Stage 4 and will be entered for Computer Science GCSE at the end of Year 11, and they complete the compulsory Non-Examined Assessment during Year 10.

Content will be divided between practical and theory lessons during their Computer Science lessons where they will learn about algorithms, programming techniques, the creation of robust programs, computational logic, translators & facilities of languages and data representation. The development of programming skills is a key feature of the curriculum and students complete multiple projects designed to increase their skill set.

Regular assessment takes place throughout Key Stage 4 and students become more confident self-reflectors and take increasing responsibility for their own learning. Questions and activities are carefully selected to cover the full range of topics and a variety of question types are used to secure fluency and enable students to tackle more challenging problems. Students therefore further develop their resilience whilst also being prepared for external assessments.

Computer systems (50%)

  • Systems Architecture
  • Memory
  • Storage
  • Wired and Wireless Networks
  • Network Topologies, Protocols and Layers
  • System Security
  • System Software
  • Ethical, legal, cultural and environmental concerns

Computational thinking, algorithms and programming (50%)

  • Algorithms
  • Programming Techniques
  • Producing Robust programs
  • Computational Logic
  • Translators and Facilities of Languages
  • Data Representation
  • Programming Project – Year 10
  • Programming Techniques
  • Analysis
  • Design
  • Development
  • Testing and evaluation and conclusions

Key Stage 5 ICT

At Key Stage 5 we offer the BTEC National Level 3 Extended Certificate in Information Technology

Link to Specification

Why choose IT BTEC?

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is intended as an applied general qualification covering 360 GLH (Guided Learning Hours) and equivalent in size to one A Level. BTEC Level 3 Information Technology is an extremely versatile subject to choose and provides a progression route to many Higher Education courses. This course has been developed in collaboration with employers, representatives from Higher Education and relevant professional bodies to ensure the content is current and relevant and to ensure that you are well equipped when you leave the course and continue onto your next pathway.


Aims of the course

Learners will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as the relationship between hardware and software that form an IT system, managing and processing data to support business and using IT to communicate and share information.

This BTEC qualification is a 2 Year course and students apply learning through a range of practical assessments. The combination of practical and written assessment styles gives students the confidence that they can apply their knowledge to succeed in the workplace – and have the study skills to continue learning on higher education courses (if they choose to), and throughout their career.


What will I study?

The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is made up of units. The units studied are as follows:

Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information

Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

Unit 5: Website Development


A Computer Club runs every Thursday lunchtime, and is staffed by members of the department to promote an atmosphere of independent, cross-curricular study and help pupils to develop key computing skills.

We would encourage all students to code as much as they can. Practical home learning tasks will be set from time to time and can be completed using free online development tools.

Useful Links